Here’s when the Samsung Galaxy S7 will be announced

Samsung just sent us an invite to an event in Barcelona three weeks from now, giving everyone the when and where. And although it doesn’t exactly say, we know why.

The Samsung Galaxy S7 is going to be the highlight of the company’s Unpacked press conference just ahead of MWC 2016 in Spain. It’s where the company’s flagship phone is expected to make its debut.

It’ll be held on February 21 at 7pm CET (that’s 1pm EST and 10am PST), and we may see a few more devices there, like the rumored Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge and even a Galaxy S7 Edge+ phablet.

YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3g3O94WALV8

Can’t make it all the way to Barcelona with us? Techradar will write about it in real time, and Samsung has the official live stream page already prepared. There’s no excuse for missing out on MWC news.

New Samsung Galaxy S7 hints

There have been plenty of Samsung Galaxy S7 leaks so far, and as if we didn’t need one more, the South Korean company threw a not-so-subtle visual Easter egg into its invite.

Samsung’s YouTube teaser for its Galaxy Unpacked event features a rotating box with the front facing upper right angle illuminated in blue. It’s forming a very obvious 7.

Just in case that one flew over your head, the words “The Next Galaxy” then appear, followed by the now official launch date of “Feb 21, 2016.”

Samsung Galaxy S7 won’t have a new look, but it’ll certainly be an upgrade with expected specs like a microSD card slot, IP67 water resistance, 4GB of RAM and either the Exynos 8 Octa 8890 or Qualcomm Snapdragon 820 processor.

Join us in three weeks time for all of the official Samsung Galaxy S7 details from Barcelona, as well as the first glimpse at its chief rival, the LG G5. Which will top our list of best phones?

 

Related