Tim Peake will take his first spacewalk in a few hours – here’s how to watch it

Tim Peake is set to take his first ever spacewalk later today at 12:55 GMT (07:30 ET/04:30 PT), which will stream live on NASA TV from 11:30 GMT (06:30 ET/03:30 PT).

The walk is expected to last six hours or longer depending on how smoothly the repairs go.

Although the Brit had previously assisted colleagues Tim Kopra and Scott Kelly on an unplanned spacewalk that took place in his first week in space, this will be his first mission outside the safety of the station.

Tim Peak Twits

Peake has been tasked with performing a variety of emergency repairs along with fellow Astronaut Kopra. They will replace a failed power regulator, cables and valves to keep the International Space Station functional.

Replacing the power regulator is not without risk, as high voltage discharges prompted by exposure to the sun could prove problematic. For that reason, there is a 30 minute time limit on the procedure, set to be completed while the ISS is still in shadow.

On Earth, Peake spent time rehearsing this particular walk, so he stands every chance of meeting all the targets – especially with help from the ISS as well as the folks back at Mission Control.

  • We’ll be watching closely. Here’s a reminder of the day he joined the rest of the Principa crew in space.

Related News